Tom

Tom

Tell us about yourself:

Hello, I’m Tom! I’ve lived in various parts of the UK, Sussex, Somerset, Kent, Warwickshire, Nottinghamshire, Mid Glamorgan, Carmarthenshire, Leicestershire (and travelled the rest with work) but currently reside in Derbyshire on the outskirts of the Peak District with my wife Kat and our 18 month old daughter Florence. I grew up in a Christian family, and values and beliefs in God instilled from an early age are still an integral part of my life now.

I started my own business in 2006 and love the variety of work this brings me. The Church of England nationally has been one of my clients since 2012 and am always delighted to see how projects in which I have been involved have directly impacted clergy, lay leaders, and the public on a day to day basis. The Life Events Diary is a really passion of mine, and it’s tremendously exciting to see how it’s being used in churches across the country.

A typical day:

With a toddler there is nothing ‘typical’ except for a morning request for Peppa Pig! We start the day as a family, having breakfast and getting ready for work and going to the childminder. Being a freelancer means I have the pleasure of working with a variety of different people on a daily basis on many different technical projects. There are core people I work with on a daily basis for ongoing long term projects, so I have the benefit of colleagues and a supportive team and also the opportunity to meet new clients on a regular basis.

What are you happiest doing when you aren’t working?

Quality time with my family is a priority, we love to be out and about exploring new places. We are all National Trust life members so can often be found visiting favourite properties close to home, and discovering new places further afield.

Do you have skills or talents that people don’t know about?

I’m a qualified British Sign Language (BSL) interpreter, I started learning the language at the age of 8 after being taught the basics by a youth worker at New Wine and wanting to learn more. It was on a sign language residential course that I met my wife! Kat signs, as does our daughter, and the majority of our friends are either signers, interpreters, and/or Deaf.

Do you have a favourite travel destination?

Any Apple store! On a serious note, I do enjoy travelling. I’ve travelled around America, I think I’m into double figures for visits to the US now. On one memorable trip my family and I were able to attend an Obama rally, and were up close for his speech and meet and greet, just a couple of nights before he became president. I’ve been to Mexico (for an evening), Israel, Malta, and Spain. We went to Sorrento on honeymoon and would love to see more of Italy. This year we flew to Orkney as my wife’s maternal family come from the island and I was yet to visit. I’ve also promised Kat a trip to New York and Finland so that ought to keep us busy for the next few years!




This Baptist Church website is powered by Church Edit| Privacy Notice